The Girl on the Train – Book Talk

I’ve just finished reading The Girl on the Train.

I used to see previews of the movie and think it looked SO scary, and was so excited to see it. Now that I’ve read it i’m curious as to why they made the trailer present the whole movie as a chiller/thriller? Now I NEED to know how the movie represented the book.

The book had me grabbed by the throat since the first page. I couldn’t stop reading it. The author had a way of using words in which they flowed so flawlessly, that made me never able to stop reading it. She even was able to use beautifully elaborate words every now and then and make them sound natural in the setting. Some authors sound silly trying to use beautiful language or big words, but she did it flawlessly.

About halfway through the book I decided it was very anti-climatic. I thought it was just about an alcoholic who was a little too snoopy into people’s lives; nevertheless, I read on because the way it was written made it so easy for me to continue. The first half of the book, i’ll admit, seems to be a big development of the main character. It seems to go on forever. You grow to dislike her -or at least I did- but then the author has that way of changing everything so flawlessly. Seriously, looking back on the book, the author knew what she was doing. She played with the readers emotions for the characters and then eventually made the book not so anti-climatic by giving you bits and pieces that make you change your mind about characters. By the end of the book I couldn’t dislike the main character Rachel anymore. I felt sorry for her.

The story seemed anti-climatic probably because the first half of it was spent on a train. Rachel. Drinking. On a train. Pretending to go to work. But not actually going to work. You get settled into this scenery, into the every-day routine of her life. But then she’s off the train, walking where she’s not meant to be walking. And the vibe of the book changes. It doesn’t become spooky, not quite yet, but it eludes to a spooky future.

Someone gets murdered, someone that Rachel has connected with only through viewing them at their house from the train. You think that she’s getting involved where she doesn’t belong- but the twist at the ending is that she is very much related to the story. It’s wild. The path Rachel takes you on is winding and wild, even though sometimes it seems docile.

In the end, the author is able to shock me into loving the book and how it was written. Now it just seems like a book of pure genius.

Leave a Reply

