Raw Crystals Transformed to Beautiful Necklace Pendant

When I started making jewelry, a lot of what I made included healing crystals. But then wire wrapping became a thing and I got really turned off from working with the stones. I don’t really like wire wrapping or wrapping the stones with anything, really. I finally learned how to do this silver capped technique and couldn’t be happier.

Its so satisfying that I’m able to buy raw crystals and go through a process and end up with a cute little necklace. Buying polished crystals with a jump ring already attached is cool, and what I worked with for a while, but I love raw crystals better and also being able to “edit” them myself.

This process included copper tape (which wasn’t carried in any store in a 30 mile radius, so I had to order it online), soldering, and being very careful not to burn yourself. Its also personally satisfying that I’m able to incorporate soldering into my art work because in my head, soldering is something that my dad does in our garage.

IMG_1573

I’m sending this pretty to my best friend’s mom as a surprise. World of Rocks of Ypsi, Mi (where I get my rocks, and who are an amazing rock shop), hit me up on Facebook and let me know that they have new raw crystals, so I can’t wait to go pick some up and make cute jewelry for the shop using this technique.

etsy.com/shop/abandonedrootsart

3 thoughts on “Raw Crystals Transformed to Beautiful Necklace Pendant

Leave a Reply

